The Minority Biomedical Research Support
Support of Continuous Research Excellence
(MBRS-SCORE) Program

External Scientific Advisory Committee (ESAC)

The MBRS SCORE Program utilizes an External Scientific Advisory Comittee to review progress towards the the specific goals established by the Program and the Program Director for the 2000-2004 grant period.

Annually, the ESAC assesses the MBRS SCORE faculty's research progress and the program goals. In years when MBRS SCORE renewal or supplementary proposals are to be submitted, the ESAC also acts as an Ad-Hoc NIH-style study section to review and select subprojects for inclusion in the final proposal. The Committee is formed by national and internationally recognized scientists:

Anne Etgen, Ph.D. Department of Neuroscience Albert Einstein College of Medicine Yeshiva University
Daniel A. Engel, Ph.D. Department of Microbiology University of Virginia School of Medicine
Jaime Matta, Ph.D. Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology Ponce School of Medicine
John W. Weisel, Ph.D. Department of Cell and Developmental Biology University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Peter Lipke, Ph.D. Department of Biology Brooklyn College - CUNY
Ralph Baric, Ph.D. Department of Epidemiology University of North Carolina School of Public Health
Stephen D. Roper, Ph.D. Department of Physiology and Biophysics University of Miami School of Medicine

Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0!